Thursday, June 18, 2015

STEM in libraries - Translating STEM into informal education: Chat 23 June

There is a chat via Adobe Connect about STEM (Science Technology Engineering Math)in libraries - Translating STEM into informal education organised by the ACRL STS Information Literacy Chat sub-committee on 23 June at 2-3PM US Central time (which is 3-4pm US Eastern time, 8-9pm UK time). The discussion is led by Stephanie Long, Children’s Services Supervisor and STEM Lab Director at Frederick County Public Library. "To add fuel for the discussion please check out this website resource: STEM is a buzz word heard in many places and it has become the focus of many education platforms across the country. Like many libraries across the country, Frederick County Public Libraries in Maryland has decided to focus much of its educational efforts on STEM and is home to one of the first STEM Labs in the state. A dedicated space to STEM education for those aged preschool to 18, the STEM Lab is an ever evolving space that aims to educate kids on STEM concepts in an informal and fun way. In this discussion, STEM Lab creator and director Stephanie Long will give an overview of the Lab, how it began, where it is headed, and how the education of both librarians and patrons happens in the space. There will also be plenty of time for questions and open discussion on the STEM Lab and STEM in libraries."Use this web address "If you have never attended an Adobe Connect meeting before: Test your connection: Get a quick overview: "
Photo by Sheila Webber: Arthur's seat, Edinburgh, June 2015

No comments: