Wednesday, April 01, 2009

Awards at LILAC

There were a couple of awards announced at the LILAC conference.
Firstly, the CSG IL Group information Literacy Award for the most inventive initiative in the sphere of information literacy was won by Ronan O'Beirne and his team at Bradford Libraries for the learning module on information literacy developed initially for public library staff, which is now available to all as Pop-i . It has been adapted for the Higher Education sector.
The second was the award for papers with an Inquiry Based Learning focus at the LILAC conference, sponsored by the Centre for Inquiry Based Learning in the Arts and Social sciences. The winners were:
Janet Cottrell, Sarah Faye Cohen & Cinse Bonino (pictured here) for their workshop Embedding Information Literacy: An Exercise in Inquiry
Highly commended were:
Geoff Walton & Alison Pope for their paper on Research informed teaching, information literacy and the inquiry-based learning nexus

No comments: