Thursday, April 14, 2016

Webcast: Cultivating Consistency in an Instruction Program without Much Authority

ACRL Instruction Section’s Management & Leadership Committee has announced a programme of online discussions.
1. Cultivating Consistency in an Instruction Program without Much Authority with Malia Willey on April 28 at 11am US Eastern time (which is 4pm UK time)
Registration is available here.
"Often with little managerial power, instruction coordinators are responsible for leading information literacy programs that encompass diverse disciplinary needs and individual teaching styles. We will examine challenges faced by library instructors and coordinators, and explore opportunities for pedagogical development and programmatic consistency. Models of shared development, such as communities of practice, encourage library instructors to grow together as teachers and learners."

2. Strategic Design: Leveraging Instructional Design in Academic Libraries with Joelle Pitts and Nicole Pagowsky on May 10 at 2pm US Eastern time which is 7pm UK time
Registration is available here.
"Interest in instructional design (ID) has been growing in academic libraries over the last decade as instruction librarians have expanded their role and scope as educators. ID approaches are additionally sought after as the science behind brain-based pedagogy and learning object design has been diffused across campuses. The development of the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education has provided a catalyst for library instruction units and stakeholders to use ID practices to refocus their instructional efforts. In this session, learn how ID works at two large university libraries, and how ID skills are helping librarians engage with the Framework. Learn how to build ID capacity in your library and how to leverage those skills to improve library instruction and collaboration."

3. Using the Framework to Foster Conversations about Information Literacy Instruction with Sara D. Miller and Amanda Nichols Hess on May 31 at 1pm US Eastern time which is 6pm UK time
Registration is available here.
Photo by Sheila Webber: white cherry, April 2016

No comments: